• RenewOnline.jpg
  • slider_1.jpg
  • slider_2.jpg

Master Certificate Scheme


For those craftsmen and women who want the ultimate accolade, we have the Master Certificate Scheme.  To view a list of the current Master Carpenters please click here.

The scheme is run by The Worshipful Company of Joiners and Ceilers, the City & Guilds of London Institute and the Furniture Makers' Company with the aim of "recognising excellence in the art, craft, science and practice of carpentry and joiners".

There are three different levels within the scheme - Craftsman, Journeyman and Master:

  • Craftsman - for those who typically have level 2 NVQ qualifications, are studying for level 3 and hold the status of Licentiate of the Institute of Carpenters (LIOC)
  • Journeyman - normally a holder of NVQ level 3, able to demonstrate excellence and experience in the craft (normally 4 years after completing NVQ level 3) and hold the status of Member of the Institute of Carpenters (MIOC)
  • Master - normally qualified to NVQ level 3 and level 4, hold Licentiateship from the City & Guilds Institute of London (LCGI) and hold the status of Fellow of the Institute of Carpenters (FIOC)

For further information contact:
Tel: 0844 879 7696.

transparent gif