• RenewOnline.jpg
  • slider_1.jpg
  • slider_2.jpg

The Wood Awards is the UK’s premier competition for excellence in architecture and product design in the world’s only naturally sustainable material. The Awards aim to recognise, encourage and promote outstanding design, craftsmanship and installation using wood.

The competition began in 1971 as the Carpenters’ Award and was relaunched in 2003 as the Wood Awards. The Awards have had an impact on the architectural and design landscape, becoming a ‘mark of excellence’ in wood with past Gold Award Winners including Stephen Marshall Architects for the Rothschild Foundation, Glenn Howells Architects for the Savill Building, Simon Conder for Pinion’s Barn, David Morley Architects for The Hurlingham Club Outdoor Pool, and most recently, Niall McLaughlin’s Bishop Edward King Chapel in Oxfordshire.

Call for Entries 2015

The Wood Awards is inviting architects and designers in the UK to submit entries for this year's competition. With permission from the owner, anyone associated with an eligible building or furniture project completed from Januaray 2014 onwards, can enter.

Entry is free and you may submit more than one project. Entrants have until 26 May to submit their work on at www.woodawards.com.

This year's categories are:

  • Buildings
  • Commercial & Leisure
  • Education & Public Sector
  • Private
  • Small Project
  • Existing Building
  • Interiors


  • Furniture & Product
  • Bespoke
  • Production Made
  • Student Designer

The Awards’ elite independent judging panel of professional experts and specialists not only judges the submitted entries but visits the shortlisted projects in person, making the Wood Awards as meaningful and rigorous a competition as possible. The Wood Awards 2015 judges include Hugh Pearman, Editor of RIBA Journal and Max Fraser, Editor of the London Design Guide.

Even if a project is not shortlisted there are benefits to entering the Wood Awards as all entries receive social media and PR exposure.  The Wood Awards shortlist will be announced in July and everyone involved in a shortlisted project will be invited to attend the Wood Awards ceremony in London on 10 November 2015. The shortlisted projects will be on display at the ceremony as well as at exhibitions including 100% Design. All Wood Award winners receive trophies and certificates and are featured in the December issue of the RIBA Journal.

Email: info@woodawards.com
Website: www.woodawards.com
Twitter: @woodawards

transparent gif